Share Board of Directors

Vincent Maltese
Vincent Maltese currently serves as the Dean of Science and Mathematics at Monroe County Community College. Prior to his career in higher education, he retired from the AFL-CIO affiliated Marine Engineers Beneficial Association with 20 years as a Marine Engineer aboard U.S. merchant vessels. 
Lee Sharpe
Vice President
Lisa Young
Recording Secretary
William Gulley
Financial Secretary
Bill Gulley joined the staff of Document Freeze Drying (DFD) Document Restoration Services in November 2013 as an archives and records management specialist. Prior to DFD Bill was an archivist and applications specialist for the Archives of Labor and Urban Affairs, Reuther Library, Wayne State University for 25 years. He was the official archivist for the Air Line Pilots Association (ALPA) and the American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees (AFSCME).
He has been a member of the Board since 2003 and has served as a past trustee, past vice president, and currently serves as financial secretary/treasurer.
Ronald Benore
James DeVries
James DeVries is a retired Professor of History at Monroe County Community College (1970-2010).  He received his BA from Hope College in 1964, an MA in 1978, and an Ed.D. in 1978 from Ball State University.  A lifetime member of the MEA, he was elected as Trustee at Monroe County Community College in 2012.  James was on the team that received a Michigan Humanities Council grant in 2007 for the Newton Strike, and worked with the group who received an IMLS Grant (2009-2011) to create the Monroe Labor History Museum exhibit.
Edmund La Clair
Jeff Morris
Jeff Morris is the President of UAW Local 723. Currently he is a delegate from his local union to the Monroe/Lenawee County A.F.L.-C.I.O. Central Labor Council (CLC). He is a member of the AFL-CIO Community Services Committee for the United Way of Monroe County.
Hobby Nels
Hobby Nels retired from the Ford Motor Company, Body Engineering, as a Project Manager.  During his 33 year career at Ford he held numerous positions in automotive manufacturing operations, engineering, and electronic component purchasing.  He has a B.S. degree from Cleveland State University and an Associates Degree in Mechanical Engineering.  He also serves on the Monroe County Historical Commission, the Monroe City Library Advisory Board, and is a Trustee for the Meadow Montessori School in Monroe.
Kathryn Hall
Kathryn Hall is the Marketing Manager of Monroe County Community Credit Union in Monroe, Michigan.  Prior to her career in the financial industry, Kathryn taught Communication courses as an adjunct instructor at both Eastern Michigan University and Monroe County Community College.  Kathryn holds a Masters of Communication from Eastern Michigan University of Ypsilanti, MI.  She has been a member of the Board since July 2014.
L. William Conner, Jr.
Trustee Emeritus
Bill Conner is a retried journeyman lineman and member of the Utility Workers Union of America Local Union # 258. He has been an active member in the labor movement and community for over 27 years. Currently he is a delegate from his local union to the Monroe/Lenawee County A.F.L.-C.I.O. Central Labor Council (CLC) and has served as a Trustee, Financial Secretary, and President.
While serving as President of the CLC in 2001, Bill helped lead the effort to save the Philip Murray building, raising over $400,000 and acting as project manager for which he coordinated all the volunteer work during the $1,000,000 renovation of the building over a 10 year period. Bill has served as President of the Monroe County Council C.I.O. Social and Welfare Assocation since 2002.